Sign In Forgot Password

Exploring Chasidism: Its History, Mystical Concepts and Ecstatic Practices

Thursday, May 13, 2021 2 Sivan 5781

7:00 PM - 8:30 PMZoom
Past Sessions
Thursday, May 6, 2021 24 Iyyar 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Thursday, April 29, 2021 17 Iyyar 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Thursday, April 22, 2021 10 Iyyar 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Thursday, April 15, 2021 3 Iyyar 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Thursday, April 8, 2021 26 Nisan 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Thursday, April 1, 2021 19 Nisan 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Thursday, March 25, 2021 12 Nisan 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Thursday, March 18, 2021 5 Nisan 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Thursday, March 11, 2021 27 Adar 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom
Thursday, March 4, 2021 20 Adar 5781 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM - Zoom

In the 1700s, on the Eastern European Jewish scene, emerged a movement that spread like wildfire, alighting the hearts, minds and souls of millions of Jews. Steeped in mysticism and aiming to open to the masses the secret practices of Kabbalah, Chasidism grew to revolutionize Jewish worship, and redefine the purpose of Judaism altogether. In doing so, it drew the ire and fierce opposition of the Talmudic, scholarly, traditional Jews who castigated this new radical movement as heresy. What was Chasidism? Where did it come from and what mystical teachings were at its source? How was it able to translate these teachings into actual daily practices aimed at spiritual awakening? Rabbi Olivier will guide us through an in-depth exploration of the movement that changed the face of Judaism, its main teachers, its revolutionary approach to worshiping and encountering God. He will, of course, also invite us to sample some of its mystical practices. Recommended as a complement to this course, and a text Rabbi Olivier will invite us to discover, please purchase Martin Buber's "Tales of the Hasidim."

We never turn anyone away from attending classes for lack of funds. Please email info@betalef.org to inquire about our Scholarship Fund.

 

Sorry, Registration has ended.

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Thu, May 13 2021 2 Sivan 5781